Obrazy na stronie

2nd, quar

a fret

arg. a chief

74. Fortescue impaling Bolein. Fortescue as above,

impaling, quarterly of six. 1st, arg. a chev. gu.
betw. three bulls' heads couped sa.
terly sa. and arg. 3rd, az, a fess betw. six cross-
crosslets or.

4th, az. three sinister hands erect apaumée couped at the wrist arg. 5th, Erm. on a chief sa. three crosses patée arg. 6th, az.

gu. 75. Dr. Browne Willis. arms on his gravestone which

is now placed upright against the east wall of the north aisle. Quarterly lst and 4th, arg. a fess betw. three lions ramp. gu. on a border of the last eight bezants (Willis). 2nd, or on two bars sa. three crosses patée fitchée arg. two and one (Fell). 3rd, arg. on a chev. sa. betw. three cranes az. as many escallops or (Browne). On a shield of pretence, arg. a fess gu. betw. two bars gemells wavy az. (Eliot).

NOTES AND DETAILS. No. 1. Christ Church Coll., Oxford. The arms are

those of the founder, Thomas Wolsey, Cardinal Archbishop of York 1514-30: his crest was a naked arm embowed grasping a shinbone all ppr. It was the original intention of Wolsey to

his foundation “ Cardinal College. Dr. B. Willis was at Christ Church. 2. Of Oxford. First part, the arms of the founder,

William Smith. Second part, arms of the See of Lincoln. Third part, arms of Sir Richard Sutton, of Presbury, Chester, Kt., who finished

the College. 3. Of Oxford. As used now, the shield is divided

into three parts paleways. First part, the arms of Richard Fox, Bishop of Winchester 1501-28. Second part, arms of the See of Winchester. Third part (which is in addition to those in the blasen here set forth), arms of Hugh Oldham, Bishop of Exeter 1505-19, viz.: “Sa. a chev. or betw. three owls arg. on a chief of the second

as many roses gu.' 4. Of Oxford. Founded by Queen Elizabeth 1571.

The arms are those of Hugh Price, Doctor of
Laws. a liberal contributor to the building.


[graphic][ocr errors][subsumed]
[ocr errors]

5. Of Oxford. The arms are those of the founder,

William of Wykeham, Bishop of Winchester, 1367-1405, and Lord Chancellor of England. New Coll. is patron of the living and manorial Lord of Newnton Longueville, Bucks. These arms appear in the church: also in stained glass (and upside down) in the little chapel at

Tattenhoe, adjacent to Bletchley. 6. The arms attributed to Edward the Confessor,

usually depicted with five martlets. 7. The cross of St. George, patron saint of England. 8.

Carta Ano. 270 H. VI. N. 48.

Pro Collegio de Eaton. Rex assignavit Collegio B.V. Mariae et Matris Xti. in Etona juxta Wyndesoram, quod fundaverat, pro Armis & Armorum Insignus, In Campo nigro tres Liliorum Flores Argenteos, habentes in Animo, ut in Secula duraturum jam fundatum Collegium, cujus Perpetuitatem Stabilitate Coloris nigro significari voluimus, Flores lucidissimos in omni Scientiarum Genere, redolentes parturiat ad Honorem et devotissimum Cultum Omnipotentis Dei, intemeratæq virginis & matris gloriosi, cujus sicuti in aliis, et in hac potissimum Fundatione nra flagranti, cum Animo internam et admodum vehementissimam gerimus Devotionem. Quibus item ut aliquid regiae nobilitatis impertiremur, quod vere Regium et celebre declararet opus Parcellas Armorum quae Nobis in Regnis Angliae et Franciae Jure debentaur Regio, in Summo Scuti locari statuimus, partitum principale de Azoreo cum Francorum Flore, de Rubeo cum peditante Leopardo aureo.

Teste Rege apud Westmon. 10. Jan: Ano. Regni sui 270.

Per ipsum Regem de data pdicta Authoritate Parliamenti.

Wymbysh. 9. The arms of the Town, and not of Buckinghamshire,

as popularly supposed. Probably devised from the armorial insignia of the Stafford family, Dukes of Buckingham, whose crest was a swan's head betw. two wings elevated, and whose supporters were two swans ppr. beaked and legged sa. durally gorged per pale gu. and sa.

10. “ Burke" blasens the arms of the Town of Bedford,

thus: “An eagle displ. looking to the sinister " with wings inverted gu. ducally crowned or,

on the eagle a large castle surmounted by two more one above the other

arg.' 11. The arms of St. Albans Abbey and Town. 12. Winchester School, same arms and founder as New

Coll., Oxford. (See note 5 supra.) 13. Bedford, in “ Blazon of Episcopacy,” gives a trefoil

vert betw. the bars. William Wake was the son of William Wake, of Blandford Forum, Dorset, gent., and his wife Amy, dau. of Edward Cutler, of Stower Payne, Dorset, gent. Born 26 Jan., 1657. He matriculated at Christ Church, Oxon, at the age of 15, on 28 Feb., 1672-2. B.A. 1676. M.A. 1679. B. and D.D. 1689. Canon 1689. Had a licence on 26 Sept., 1688, to marry Etheldreda, third dau. and coh, of Sir William Hovell, of Hillingdon, Norfolk, Kt., and of St. Giles in the Fields: (she died 15 April, 1731, and had a large family). Was chaplain in ordinary to Will

. and Mary. Rector of St. James', Westminster, 1695. Rector of St. John's, Westm. 1701. Dean 1701, and Prebendary and Canon Exeter 1701. .

Lord Justice in 1719-20-3-5. Bishop of Lincoln 1705, translated to the Primacy in succession to Thomas Tenison in 1716. Died at Lambeth 29 Jan., 1736. He was of wide reading, immense industry and tolerant spirit. Was buried at Croydon, and his monument was destroyed when

the parish church was burned down in 1867. 14. Wriothesley, son of Lord William Russell (beheaded

1683) and his wife Rachel, dau. of Thomas Wriothesley, Earl of Southampton: succeeded his grandfather William, first Duke of Bedford, in 1700. Matriculated at Magdalen Coll., Oxford, 13 May, 1696, age 15. Was gentleman of the Bedchamber to William III., 1701-2.

K.G. 1702. Died 26 May, 1711. 15. John, second Duke of Montagu ; courtier; was the

eldest surviving son of Ralph, first Duke, by his first wife Elizabeth, dau. of Thomas Wriotheslev, Earl of Southampton, and widow of Joceline


« PoprzedniaDalej »