Who Goes First?: The Story of Self-experimentation in Medicine

Przednia okładka
Random House, 1987 - 430
This is the only complete history of the little known but controversial practice of self-experimentation in modern medical science. All standard medical practices, therapies and techniques in use today were once experimental. But before any medical advance can be adopted, it must first be tested on a human. The question is, who goes first? This is the story of those who went first: of Werner Forssman, the young German intern who defied medical authorities by pushing a catheter tube through a vein in his arm into his own heart and so revolutionized techniques used in combating heart disease; of Fredrick Prescott and Scott Smith, two researchers who had themselves paralyzed in order to demonstrate that the poison could be used as a drug that revolutionized the practice of surgery. ISBN 0-394-50382-1: $22.50.

Z wnętrza książki

Co mówią ludzie - Napisz recenzję

Who goes first?: the story of self-experimentation in medicine

Recenzja użytkownika  - Not Available - Book Verdict

The ethical implications of self-experimentation are not the focus of this fascinating book. Yet the subject arises frequently as Altman explores developments in a variety of medical disciplines such ... Przeczytaj pełną recenzję

Spis treści

Foreword by Lewis Thomas M D vii
Prawa autorskie

Nie pokazano 14 innych sekcji

Inne wydania - Wyświetl wszystko

Kluczowe wyrazy i wyrażenia

Informacje o autorze (1987)

Lewis Thomas was born in Flushing, New York, and received his medical degree from Harvard University, with a specialization in internal medicine and pathology. He has been a professor at several medical schools, as well as dean of the Yale Medical School. Most recently Thomas has been chancellor and president emeritus of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York City and professor of medicine at the Cornell Medical School. His erudite books have earned him a wide audience, making him one of the best-known advocates of science in the United States during the past 20 years. For example, The Lives of a Cell won the National Book Award in arts and letters in 1974, and The Medusa and the Snail won the American Book Award for science in 1981.

Informacje bibliograficzne