British Overseas Territories Law

Przednia okładka
This is a manual of law and practice relating to the 14 remaining British overseas territories- Anguilla; Bermuda; British Antarctic Territory; British Indian Ocean Territory; Cayman Islands; Falkland Islands; Gibraltar; Montserrat; Pitcairn Islands; St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands; Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in Cyprus; Turks and Caicos Islands; and Virgin Islands.

Most, if not all, of these territories are likely to remain British for the foreseeable future, and many have agreed modern constitutional arrangements with the British Government. This book provides a comprehensive description of the main elements of their governance in law and practice, and of the constitutional and international status of the territories.
It describes their constitutional relationship with the United Kingdom, and goes on to deal with legislative, executive and judicial authority and controls, their sources of law and human rights protection in the territories. It considers the Offices of the Governor and the Law Officers of the Territories. It analyses defence, security and emergency powers in the territories; the nationality and status of people 'belonging' to them; their public finance arrangements; their relationship with the European Union; and the conduct of their external relations. It examines the position of the territories under international law, including their relationship with the United Kingdom in that context and the United Kingdom's international responsibility for them, and contains a description of the means of terminating British sovereignty over them. An Annex sets out key features of each territory in turn, describing briefly its history, status, constitutional structure, courts, law, economy and, in some cases, regional integration.

Co mówią ludzie - Napisz recenzję

Nie znaleziono żadnych recenzji w standardowych lokalizacjach.

Inne wydania - Wyświetl wszystko

Informacje o autorze (2011)

Ian Hendry is a Constitutional Adviser to the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and a former Deputy Legal Adviser there.
Susan Dickson is a Legal Counsellor at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Informacje bibliograficzne