« PoprzedniaDalej »
of water nearly 300 feet high. The other by other acts of similar liberality. One from several jets sends forth copious gentleman has already offered to give up a streams which rise and fall alternately. valuable piece of ground adjoining the Huge masses of rock are collecting and land so purchased, and leading to and forming into a rock-work, and when com. from Saville place to Richmond terrace, pleted will present the appearance of a in order to make an easier access
to the wild mountain torrent of above 300 feet road leading to Clifton Down, Hotwells, long. Some rare plants bave been sent Brandon-Hill, &c. thus combining conto his grace from one of the most arid venience with delightful drives and parts of Western Africa.
scenery. This gentleman a short time
back gave the sum of 1,0001. towards the The Ecclesiastical Commissioners of new church lately erected. England have separated a large portion of the parish of Charles (Plymoutb), into a distinct district, which, for all ecclesias.
Nov. 28. The Lord Bishop of Win. tical purposes, will henceforth be called chester consecrated a new church at Farn. Sutton-on-Plym. It includes Catdown, in the presence of the Dean of Chichester
borough, on the South-Western Railway, Brunswick-terrace, Britonside, Coxside, one side of Bilbury-street, Buckwell and a large number of the clergy. The street, Looe-street, and all the interme
church is within sight of the Farnborough diate streets to the water-side. The Rev.
station, and is built of Heath stone. George Carrighan, M.A. of St. John's chester, at which the Duke of Welling
In 1837, a meeting was held at Win. College, Cambridge, bas been appointed by Sir Robert Peel to be Minister of this
ton presided. A society was formed for new district.
the purpose of taking measures for the extension of Church accommodation
throughout the diocese. Since its formOct. 22. The Lord Bishop of Glou. ation it has contributed towards the erec. cester and Bristol consecrated the newly tion of 42 new churches and chapels, and erected church of St. Jobn, at Cinderford, the repairs and enlargement of 34. The in the Forest of Dean, built after a design aggregate amount of the population asby Edward Blore, esq. upon land given sisted is about 250,000. The church ac. by the Crown, by public subscriptions, but commodation previously existing in these chiefly by the munificent donations of places was 68,907 sittings, or rather more Charles Bathurst, esq., of Lydney Park, than one in four of this number; not more and the Rev. Dr. Warneford. It is si. tban one in sixteen were free. The ad. tuated in the midst of a large and poor ditional accommodation now obtained is population, hitherto at a distance from 26,893 sittings, making the proportion of any church, and is capable of holding 650 sittings to be somewhere between one in persons.--Oct. 23, bis Lordship conse
tbree and one in two. Of these addi. crated a piece of land as an addition to tional sittings no less than 17,503 ure the burial ground to the church of Holy free; thus making the proportion of free Trinity, in the Forest of Dean, upon land sittings to be one in seven and a half, also given by the Crown.-And Oct. 25, being rather more than double the number the Bishop consecrated a beautiful church, that previously existed. The estimated built at the sole expense of the Earl cost of these buildings and enlargements, Bathurst, upon a site voluntarily given by as reported to the committee, annount in Peter Playne, of the Box, esq., at Framp- the aggregate to 105,8771. The society's ton Mansel, a tything in the parish of grants bave amounted to 25,0521. In Sapperton, as a chapel of ease for the in- addition to this sum it has remitted to the habitants of that tything, being nearly incorporated society in London the sum two miles distant from the mother church. of 30921, making its total outlay to amount
The Society of Merchants have lately to 28,1441. purchased a large piece of ground in the
HEREFORDSHIRE, centre and principal part of Clifton, in Joseph Bailey, esq. M.P. for Worces. order to preserve it for the benefit of the public. The purchase was made at a
ter, has purchased the ancient and pic. higher price than the land was worth, but orders to have it put in complete repair.
turesque Castle of Hay, and has given it was paid rather than let the ground be sold for building purposes. It is intended to lay the ground out in a park-like man- Sept. 26. A new bridge across the ner, to make it conducive to the public Irwell, connecting the boroughs of Man. recreation, and to preserve the view of a chester and Salford, was publicly opened, noble terrace lately erected. It is pro- and received the name of Albert Bridge. bable that the example will be followed It is of one arch, and measures 18 yards
Across within the battlements. It has Everton-brow, two relics of military warbeen built at the expense of the county. fare were found in the earth, about a foot It was mentioned by W. Garnett, esq. from the surface. One of them, the recbairman of the Bridge Committee, that mains of a large sword, or sabre, was taken within bis recollection there was but one up in a garden belonging to Mr. Halli. bridge for carriages across the Irwell at day, at the back of a small house known Manchester : nuw there are five, and as Prince Rupert's Cottage; the other, some of them ornamelits to the town. which is a portion of a firelock, was dis
Nov. 29. The new church of St. Bar. covered niear the church ; both are very nabus, at Manchester, just finished, was much corroded by the action of the weaconsecrated by the Lord Bisbop of ther, and a part of the sword appears to Chester. The district bas, by an order in have been broken off. The most procouncil, been created a new parish, and bable conjecture is, that they have been is named “The District of St. Barnabas, embedded in the soil since the period Manchester." The church is one of ten wben Liverpool was besieged by Prince erected in this town by “The Ten Rupert, in 1614. They are now in the Churches Association,” and is, perhaps, possession of Mr. William Halliday, of one of the finest yet built by that useful the Everton coffee-house. body. The next day bis Lordship con
MIDDLESEX. secrated another new church in tbe town. The Tower of London is about to undership of Blockley.
go great alterations and improvements. Dec. 1. The Bishop of Chester con- For months past surveyors have been ensecrated a new church at Bolton, under gaged, at the direction of the Board of peculiar circumstances. The building Ordnance, in surveying different parts ; was erected in 1822 for the use of the and an elaborate working model has been Methodist new connexion, and was always formed, under the superintendence of well attended, on account of the learning Major Hall, of the Royal Engineers. A and eloquence of the preacher. About new entrance will be made facing Upper four years ago the minister and congrega- Thames-street, and will be approached by tion held several meetings, the result of a drawbridge. To effect this alteration, which was tbat they determined on con- the Spur Gate is to be demolished ; that forming to the Established Church. Since part of the old ditch between the Warders' that period the building has been occu- Hall and the Spur Gate filled up, and a pied as a chapel of ease to the parish new one in a line with that by ihe river church. A district bas been assigned to side is to be made, so as to run outside it under the provisions of the 6th and 7th the grand entrance, in accomplishing Victoria, c. 39; and on its being conse. which a large space of ground will be crated it became a parish church, under added to the fortress, although no enthe name of Christ Church. The build- croachment on the public right of way un ing is a plain brick structure, accommo. Tower-bill. The Spur Gate barracks, dating 800 persons, and is situated in the tbe menagerie buildings, the new ticketpoorest and most spiritually destitute part oflice, the Spur-guardroom, and the ramof the town. To fit it for the service of parts adjacent, are to be razed to the the church a chancel has been erected, ground, and on their site will be built suband to give the exterior something of an stantial erections for public offices. The ecclesiastical character, the west front has Warders'. hall, now fronting the Stonebeen improved, and the addition of a kitchen, is to be destroyed, and a new one doorway of elaborate design, consisting of erected, wbich, together with the ticketfive receding arches, executed chietly in office and guardroom, will form the buildterra-cotta from the Ladystone works ings at the grand entrance. The two near Bolton. The windows, wbich had archways almost at the extreme eastern semicircular heads and sash-lights, have end of the fortress, leading to what is been replaced by windows in the same termed the Irish barracks at the south-east style as the doorway (Norman), and a angle, are to be removed, and the Irish bell gable, surmounted by an appropriate barracks, now used for the accommodacross, has been placed on the top. "The tion of the troops, are to be converted in. alterations have been made under the to storerooms. The entire row of build. superintendence of Mr. Gregan, of Man- ings on the opposite side of the way is chester. The petition was presented to also to be demolished, and the whole space the Bishop by the Rev. James Slade, of the rampart wall will be cleared away, vicar of the parish, and a
affording a commodious thoroughfare. At preached by the Rev. Henry Raikes, M.A. the end of the Irish barracks are a numChancellor of the diocese of Chester. ber of smiths' shops and lofts; all these
Dec. 13. During the operations going are to be levelled as far as the old Mill on in connexion with the new park at barracks, to the end immediately beneath
the Jewel-house. The houses fronting Exchange-Ist premium 3001., 2nd ditto the barracks in a line with the King's 2001., 3rd ditto 1001.-6001. ; excavating Arms public-bouse, about forty in num- the Merchants' area, and constructing ber, are to share a similar fate, at least as vaults underneath, 30001. ; contract for far as the School-room. Nearly opposite building the Exchange, completed by Mr. to those buildings are the officers' resi. Jackson, the builder, at Pimlico, 115,0901.; dences, wbich are intended to be appro- sculpture work in the tympani (by Westpriated for the accommodation of the war- macott), 30001. ; carvings of the internal ders. A large building between the façades, &c., also externally, 27001. ; Beauchamp tower and the officers' pre- sculpture of Corinthian capitals, columns, sent quarters is to be converted into an and piazzas, 60001. ; the encaustic paint. infirmary for the troops, an institution ing of the roof of the colonnade, by M. long required in the garrison. The alter- Sang, 22481. ; cost of clock and works, ations intended immediately adjacent to &c., 7001.; cost of bells, 9051. ; statue of the Grand Parade are equally extensive. the Queen, 10001.; statue of Queen Eli. The houses on the right, after passing zabeth (Watson, artist), 5001. ; statue of under the Bloody Tower to the parade, Sir R. Whittington (Carew, artist), 4301.; now the residence of some of the warders, statue of Sir H. Myddelton (same artist), will be destroyed, together with the guard- 4601. ; statue of Sir T. Gresham, 5501. ; room. All the buildings, in fact, conti- the Royal arms over the western entrance, guous to the White Tower are to be swept 3501. ; the tessellated pavement (a failure, away, so as to throw that interesting and and destroyed), 7001. ; commission to Mr. stately structure open to the view of the Tite, the architect (said to be about spectator, many of its beauties being bid 10,0001.) There are other expenses, the den by the unsightly buildings that are amount of which is not yet made up ; but attached to it. The carriage-way is to be the amount total of the cost of the edifice abolished and raised level with the parade, will not exceed 180,0001. The improvewhich will certainly be one of the finest ments, in the demolition of the Bankexercising grounds any fortress can boast buildings, and other premises at the back of. It will be approached by a wide flight of the Exchange, cost about 190,0001. ; of steps close under the Bloody Tower. total 370,0001. The rental of the Royal On the ruins of the grand storehouse is Exchange is described in the Committee's to be erected a large building for the ac- Report to be as follows :-Royal Excommodation of 800 soldiers, the style of change Assurance Company, 21001. ; which is to be in strict keeping with the Lloyd's, 12601. ; London Assurance ComWhite Tower. Extensive excavations pany, 15001. ; shops, &c., 50001. ; total, are now going on in order to secure a good 10,1601. The Exchange will not be foundation, for wbich purpose the whole opened for public business until some of the burial-ground attached to St. Peter's weeks after Christmas. ad Vincula has been devoted, the bodies Westminster Bridge.-By a recent Partherein having been removed and deposit. liamentary Return, it appears that from ed in a spacious vault (unless taken to the year 1810 to April 1838, a sum of other cemeteries). Some of the buildings 83,0971. 6s. 94d. was expended in the reto the west of the parade are to be pulled pairs and alterations of this bridge, toge. down to make room for more substantial ther with charges for professional and other erections. The houses on the terrace, services. The cost since 1838, in the reknown as the Map Office, are to be used pairs and alterations, amounted to 82,6611. as officers' residences, the roofs of which and a further sum was required of 52,8791.; will be made to correspond with the and, if the footpaths were made the same White Tower and the intended new bar- as London-bridge, an additional sum of racks. The Beauchamp Tower, which 40,0001. would be expended. The total stands on the west side of the parade, will income of the property belonging to the be thrown open to public view; and when commissioners of the bridge is 7,4611. 11s. the records are removed to the new
It will be perceived that the Houses of Parliament, the White Tower sum expended since 1839, and tbe further will be open for public inspection. sum required, amount in six years to up
The Royal Exchange. The following wards of 135,0001., whilst the income de. particulars respecting the amountof money rived from the property of the bridge in that has been expended by the Mercers' the period only amounts to 14,7871. 10s. Company in the erection of the New Dec. 12. At a General Court of the Royal Exchange, and the improvements Corporation of the School for the Indiin the immediate vicinity, are derived geni Blind, it appeared that during the from authentic sources. Contract for the last quarter the amount received was upfoundation, 96571. 18.; expenses for lay. wards of 50001., from which, deducting ing foundation stone, 11761. 198. Id.; the current expenditure, a balance of 650i. voted to three architects for plans of the remained in the bankers' bands. The re,
8d. a year.
port of the past year showed the funded Mr. Erle, and his lady, (the latter is the stock of the corporation to be 65,7281. daughter of the preacher,) were among 178. 7d. the receipts for donations and the congregation. A second collection subscriptions, dividends on stock, &c. was made in the evening, which made a amounted to 11,1891. 58. Ild. The noble total of 641, 108. building, having been much beautified and materially enlarged, is now capable of containing an additional number of pupils;
The population of the parish of King, and, therefore, in addition to the present
Swinford having, by recent opening of number of 68 males and 70 females, the
mines, increased to nearly 24,000, and committee have determined that 18 (10
church accommodation having become additional) shall be admitted at the election lamentably deficient, the Rector, Dr. Pen. in March.
fold, by the aid of the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, has succeeded in dividing the
parish into six districts, containing 4,000 Nov. 5. Saint John Baptist's Church, each, and it is intended each shall have its Leen Side, Nottingham, was consecrated church (there are now three), its parson, by the Lord Bisbop of Lincola. The age-house, resident minister, and national Rev. W. Howard is appointed incumbent schools. The funds for building have of the district. This Church contains been obtained from the Church Building open sittings for 800 persons on the Society, with 2501. from the noble gift of ground floor, and is on the simplest plan 4,0001. from Sir Robert Peel; and with consistent with so great an extent of ac. nearly 6001. in subscriptions. All the commodation. The style is early-English. sittings are to be free; the site and two The walls are massive, and constructed of acres for a churchyard were given by the Bulwell stone, in irregular courses. The trustees of the late Earl of Dudley, and a quoins and dressings, both internally and sufficient sum from Lord Ward to enable externally, are of free-stone, chiefly from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners to build Derbyshire, from the quarries at Crom- the parsonage. Grants of 6001. have been ford, Coxbench, and Duffield. The capie obtained from the Committee of Council tals of the internal pillars are from Mans. and National Society for the schools, the field. The cost of the building has been site for which has been purchased and about 30001, and the site and extras given by the Rector. from 12001. to 14001. in addition, making
SUFFOLK. a total of about 44001, A singular discovery has recently been
Nov. 27. The venerable church of All made in Back-lane, at the back of Derby. Şaints, Sudbury, narrowly escaped being road, Nottingham. In cutting the line destroyed by fire. The ceiling, joists, for a sough, the labourers suddenly broke
and boarding were burnt through, and a into a narrow passage in the rock, running
hole made in the roof about two feet in in the direction of the forest on one side,
diameter. The fire, it has been ascer. and pointing towards the Castle on the tained, proceeded from the carelessness of other. On the side of the Castle, about
some plumbers, who had been repairing four yards down, the passage has been
the leads during the day, and kindled a bricked up, apparently for the purpose of
fire on a flag-stone placed upon the roof; forming a cellar to one of Mr. Goodhead's this stone had split with the intense heat, houses, near the top of the lane. In the and the embers falling through the fracdirection of the forest the road runs un
tures ignited the timbers. der the first house upon going up the hill,
SURREY. and parties explored it for several hun. dred yards. A similar passage, a few yards wark, was re-opened for Divine Service,
Nov. 17. St. Olave's Church, South. higher up the road, was opened some
the Rev. Archdeacon Wilberforce, Chapyears ago. The opening above described
lain to his Royal Highness Prince Albert, is full half a mile from the castle.
preaching an impressive sermon. It has
been rebuilt in the form of the old struc. Dec. 1. The venerable church of St. ture which was burnt down Aug. 19, 1843, Peter's in the East, Oxford, was re-open
as recorded in our volume XX. pt. ii. p. ed for Divine Service. The roof in the 309. The expenses incurred amount to nave and north aisle has been beautifully about 8,0001. restored, and a new organ, by Bishop, Nov. 21. The new parish church of Cam. erected in the western gallery. Dr. Wil- berwell (also rebuilt in consequence of a liams (Warden of New College) preached fire) was consecrated by the Bishop of in the morning, and a collection was after. Winchester. Its form and character are wards made while the offertory sentences
described under the head of architecture were read by the Vicar, amounting to in our present number. The old church rather more than 491. The new judge, was burnt down Feb. 7, 1841, as recorded
in our vol. XV. p. 309, and its most re
WORCESTERSHIRE. markable features were noticed in p. 247 of the same volume. See also vol. XVIII.
Dec.5. The new Chapel of Ease at Bar. p. 81, for the decision as to its re-edifica
nard's Green, near Great Malvern, was tion.
consecrated by the Bishop of Worcester. Nor. 22. The Bishop of Winchester
The site was given by Mr. Foley, the
lord of the manor. consecrated Camden Chapel, at Camber. well, for many years only licensed, and
The extensive parish of Oldsvinford (of under proprietary management, and a
which the town of Stourbridge forms part)
has been without a church-rate for upplace of great resort during the late mi. nistry of the Rev.Henry Melvill, B.D. Ar
wards of eight years, during which time
the current expenses have been defrayed rangements have been made for assigning to it an ecclesiastical district, and the partly by a voluntary rate and partly by
the churchwarders for the time being. In Rev. Daniel Moore, B.A., minister of Christ Chapel, St. John's Wood, has been
two or three cases the individuals filling
that office have lost upwards of 301., appointed to the incumbency.
by providing for the expenses of their WARWICKSHIRE.
year of office. A rate of id. in the pound Nov. 22. The Lord Bishop of Lich. has now been carried, to meet the exfield consecrated the Chapel of St. James
penses of the current year. Upwards of at Birmingham attached to the medical
11,0001. has been raised in the neighbourinstitution of Queen's College. This is hood within the last few years for church the first Church that has been devoted in purposes by voluntary subscriptions, and modern times to the special use of the me- the rate of 1d. in the pound, after an indical profession. The munificent friend of
terval of so many years, is not estimated Queen's College, the Rev. Dr. Warneford, to produce more than 801. has supplied the means of fulfilling the requirements of the Church Building Act, and an endowment fund of 10001. The
Rocliffe St. Mary's Church has been architect is Mr. Drury. The ceremony
consecrated by the Lord Bishop of Ripon.
This church was erected and in great part was preceded by a breakfast at Dee's
endowed Hotel, which was attended by Lord Lyt.
the expense of Andrew Law. telton, and many other distinguished vi
son, Esq. M.P., aided by contributions sitors.
towards the endowment by Mrs. Law. Dec. 2. The Warwick and Leaming. rence, of Studley Park, and other benevoton Railway was opened to the public.
lent persons. The Bishop was attended The time occupied in its construction,
by the Hon. and Rev. H. D. Erskine, under the superintendence of Mr. Ste
Rural Dean, and 16 clergymen. The
Rev. James Lawson read prayers, and the phenson, has been eighteen months. The gradients are rather heavy, the steepest
Lord Bishop preached the sermon. The being 1 in 100. Messrs. ). Jackson, of church-yard, containing half an acre, also London, and J. Cumming, Birmingham,
the gift of Mr. Lawson, was consecrated
at the same time. were the contractors. The Kenilworth, the only intermediate station, on the outskirts of the town, is constructed of Ke- The Duke of Roxburghe having deternilworth stone. That at Leamington, in mined on reconstructing the celebrated the Roman Doric style, is situate on the old deer park at Broxmouth, co. Had. main road between Leamington and War- dington, has taken into possession that wick. The first feature of interest, and part of it formerly let, consisting of 80 one of the principal works, is that of the acres of fine land. It is thrown into Milburne Grange viaduct, composed of grass for permanent pasture, and occu. seventeen arches, of 31 feet span, built pied, as in days of yore, with the finest of red brick, faced with stone and sup- and most genuine breed of deer in the ported by stone pillars : it cost 2,4001. kingdom. What with this, the lake, and The Castle Gutter Brook Bridge is of the other improvements on the river and three arches, of 60 feet span, composed of grounds, this ancient, but now remodelled blue brick, and cost 1,4001. The timber baronial seat, will vie with any of its exbridge, spanning three roads, is formed of tent in Scotland. wood-work, with stone piers, 50 feet span, The late Gen. Lord Lynedoch's estate and bas cost 9401. The viaduct over the at Lynedoch, near Perth, has been pur. Avon consists of nine arches, of 60 feet chased by James Simpson, esq. of Fox-hill span, and is the chief work upon the line. Bank, near Manchester, for 135,0001., It is built of blue brick, has cost 4,6501., and his late Lordship's adjacent estate of and commands a fine view of the Avon, Balgowan has been purchased by W. and of Guy's Cliffe, the demesne of the Thompson, esq. of Edinburgh, Hon. C. B. Percy,