Obrazy na stronie
PDF
ePub

John Parker reminded the members that the increased subscription of 108. had been the means of placing the Society in a much healthier financial position. He then gave a report of the literary working of the Society, and announced the papers which would appear in the forthcoming RECORDS, which would be of exceptional interest.

Mr. Cocks made a few remarks upon the pile-dwelling which had been discovered at Hedsor-the only one known to exist in ihe South of England, and mentioned that it was interesting as being of a later date than others that had been found. Last autumn, whilst making excavations, those in charge of the work were completely flooded out, and Sir John Evans, in his character as President of the Society of Antiquaries, had promised them a steam-pump, but his (Mr. Cocks's) application was sent too late in the season, so they would have to wait till another year, The pile-dwelling had existed for many centuries, and one year would not make much difference. They might, however, discover that there was not only one dwelling, but many, covering some acres of ground. They had found remains of bones and curious objects cut out of oak, objects altogether new to Bucks. The Chetwode barrow which had been opened was somewhat disappointing, as it yielded nothing but a negative result. A windmill had stood upon the barrow, the foundations of wbich had been removed, and disclosed the largest amount of wood ashes he had ever seen in an aborigioal burial spot, but no bones were found. Referring to the Museum, he thought it was not a credit to the county, to the Society, or to himself, Only recently a gentleman bad offered to present them with a collection of shells and minerals, but when he saw the place where they would have to be deposited he would not leave them, but withheld his intended gift. If they could get more cases the prospects of the Museum would be greatly improved,

The following were elected members of the Society :-Mr. and Mrs. Walter Baily, Terrier's Green, Wycombe; the Rev. J. W. W. Bootb, Prestwood Vicarage; Mr. Charles Pigott, Brook House, Aylesbury; the Rev. C. 0. Phipps, Aylesbury Vicarage ; the Rev. W. B. Banting, Little Brickhill Vicarage ; Mr. Thomas Hedges, Heywood House, Stewkley ; and i he Venerable the Archdeacon of Buckingham, Taplow.

Votes of thanks were passed to the Chairman and to Mr. Williams for organising the excursion.

After the Annual Meeting, some delay was occasioned by the conveyances not being in readiness, and, unfortunately, the intended visit to the three Brickhill Churches had to be abandoned, this was the more to be regretted as Mr. Banting, the Vicar of Little Brickhill, had prepared a paper to be read ou the history and architecture of his church. A drive was consequently taken direct to Leighton Buzzard, and a visit was paid to the fine parish church of All Saints. Those of the members and their friends who bad to catch the train at Aylesbury on the Wycombe branch line could only, in a cursory manner, view the churcb, the remainder were able to inspect it at their leisure, and also to examine Dr. Lawford's collection of antiquities.

The members and their friends were met at the church by Dr. Lawford, Mr. D. Pettit, Mr. Richmond, and other gentlemen, who pointed out its principal features. The elaborate iron work of the west door was first examined, and excited much interest. It is supposed to have been made about the year 1290, by Master Thomas de Lightone, who is also credited with having made the iron screen for Queen Eleanor's tomb in Westminster Abbey. It is in an excellent state of preservation, and was evidently the work of no mean craftsman. Upon ontering the church, Dr. Lawford made a few introductory remarks, after which Mr, Richmond read some extracts from a paper he had prepared.

He said the first authentic record they bad of Leighton was in “Domes.
day," under the name of Lestone, and it was supposed to have been the
Lygeanbirg of the “Saxon Chronicles." The earliest reference he could
find to the second name-Buzzard-was in a letter in the muniment room
of the Dean and Chapter of Lincoln, dated 1242, by the Bishop of that
See to the Prebendary of “ Lecton Buzzard,” and again in the ordination
of the vicarage in 1277. Buzzard was supposed by some to be a corrup-
tion of “Beau Assart” (a good clearing), by others to be taken from the
family of Bozart, wbo were of some note in the county in the time of
Edward II. and III. (1307-77). The Rectory of Leighton was originally
possessed by the Bishop of Dorchester, as part of the endowment of
that See, which was removed to Lincoln in 1073. The present building
dated from the end of the 13th century. Mr. James Parker, at a meet-
ing bere of the Oxford Arcbæological Society in 1891, stated that there
was nothing earlier in the present fabric than the work of the reign of
Edward I. (1272-1307). The tower, spire, and most of the walls of the
aisles and chancel were believed to be Early English ; the nave, piers,
arches, and chancel, Early English or very Early Decorated ; and the
windows nearly all Perpendicular, some of them having very good
tracery. The font-a very solid piece of masonry-is Early Englisb, and
probably of earlier date than any portion of the fabric of the church.
The vestry was thought to have been an ancborite's cell or priest's
cbamber. The remains of the stone staircase to the rood loft were on
the south side of the chancel arch. The church was carefully restored
in 1886 by Messrs. Bodley and Garner. The porches, which had beea
closed since 1841, and used for staircases to the galleries, were re-opened
and the galleries removed. Some interesting details were brought to
light in the transepts. The nave roof was a good specimen of its kind,
the stone cor bels having the instruments of the Passion carved upon
them. Some of the woodwork of the church was specially worthy of
notice, the base of the lectern being, with other specimens, of the earliest
date. The oak stalls in the chancel were naturally associated with the
Cistercian House wbich existed at Grovebury from 1177. The pulpit was
a dated specimen of Jacobean work, and the folding board in the south
transept bore a record to the effect that in 1638 Edward Wilkes "gave
the cedar pulpit and a purple velvet cushion for the use of the minister."
The altar table and altar rails, as well as the monumente, were also worthy
of note.

The party, after an inspection of the principal objects to which attention had been called, proceeded to Dr. Lawford's residence, where they were entertained to tea in his garden, and afforded an opportunity of viewing his collection of Anglo-Saxon coins, ancient pottery, and other objects found in the immediate neighbourhood. Mr. H. Pettit also exhibited a very interesting collection of old coins and poliery, some of the coins being of very early date and excellent specimens.

The thanks of the members having been given to Dr. Lawford for his kindly reception and entertainment, the proceedings of the Society conoluded.

1

INDE X.

PAGE Amersham Churchwarden's Ac

counts (Rev. F. G. Lee, D.D.,
F.S.A.)

43 Annual Excursions—to Upton and

Langley, 75; to Windsor, 213 ;
to Waddesdon and Winchen.
don, 335; to Aston Clinton,

etc., 468; to Woburn Abbey 570 Aston Clinton Church( Proceedings) 468 Alterations and Additions to the

Charter of Chepping Wycombe
(Rev. W. H. Summers) •

523 Bibliography of John Mason (Mr.

J. L. Myres, B.A., F.S.A.) 40 Burnham Hundred, Account of

Subscriptions to present to

King Charles II. (The Editor) 71 Beaconstield, State Papers relating

to (Rev.W. H. Summers) 97
Minutes of a Meeting at,

in 1792 (Mr. George
Weller)

231 Bickersteth, Dr., Dean of Lichfield,

Obituary Notice of (Mr. R.
Gibbs, F.S.A.)

156 Buckinghamshire Churches (Dr. F G. Lee)

169 Brass of Roger Dynham (Mr. A. H. Cocks, M. A.).

263 Bucks, South, Local Words of (Mr. A. Ú. Cocks).

61 Vocabulary, Further Contribution to (Mr. A. H. Cocks)

284 Church Plate of (Mr. J. L. Myres)

413 Barrow at Chet wode, Exploration of (Mr. A. H. Cocks)

462 Buckingham, Earldom of (Mr. John Parker, F.S.A.)

485 Burgess, Captain Boughey, Obitu:

ary Notice of (Mr. W. A.
Burgess).

568 Bridge, Tobias, Award of, in Dis

putes at High Wycombe (Rev.
W. H. Summers)

517

PAGE Churchwarden's Accounts, Amer. sham (Dr. F. G. Lee)

43 Church Plate of Bucks (Notes by Mr. J. L. Myres)

136, 413 Concerning Certain Buckingham

shire Churcbes (Dr. F. G.
Lee)

169 Cowper and Newton (Mr. Henry Gough)

196 "Church Bells of Buckingham

shire,” Notices of (Mr. A. H.

Cocks), 261; (The Editor) 558 Chesterfield, Earl of, and Dukes of

Wharton (Rev. R. H. Pigott) 247 Celibacy of the Clergy, and Mis.

senden Chartulary (Mr. J.
Parker)

314 Christiavity in Bucks, Origin and

First Growth of (Rev. T. Wil-
liams)

343 Chetwode, Exploration of a Large

Barrow at (Mr. A. H. Cocks) 462 Cromwell's Charter, High Wy.

combe (Rev. W. H. Summers) 511 Civil Marriages during the Com.

monwealth (Mr. Arthur
Clear)

531 Crendon Caput of the Giffards (Mr. J. Parker)

494, 499, 503 Cocks, Mr. A.'H., M.A., on Local

Words of South Bucks 61
Notice of “The Church
Bells of Bucks”

236 Description of the Brass of Roger Dynham

262 A Further Contribution to

wards a Buckinghamshire
Vocabulary

284
Exploration of a large Bar-
row at Chetwode

462 A Palimpsest Brass at Mid. dle Claydon

529 The Romano-British Pile

Dwelling at Hedsor 538 Clear, Mr. Arthur, on Civil Mar

riages during the Common-
wealth

631

136,

PAGE
Dukes of Wharton and Earl of

Chesterfield (Rev. R. H.
Pigott)

247
Dynham, Roger, Brass of (Mr. A.
H. Cocks)

262
Documents in State Papers relat.

ing to High Wycombe (Rev. W.
H. Summers).

304
Drayton Beauchamp Church (Pro-
ceedings)

469
Downs, Mr. R. s., on 'lighi Wy:
cornbe Parish Church. Part I. 264

Part II. 430

[blocks in formation]

.

.

[ocr errors]

Excursion to Lillingstones, Dayrell,

and Lovell, and Annual
Meeting at Leckham.
sted

82
to Winchester

92
in Mid Bucks.

163
to Windsor Castle

213
to Woburn Abbey

570
Edlesborough Church (Dr. F. G.

Lee), 176; (Proceedings) 473
Early Paper Mills in Bucks (Rev.
W. H. Summers)

202
Eythorpe (Rev. R. H. Pigott) 258
Earls, Creation of (Mr. J. Parker) 500
Editor, Preface by

Account of Subscriptions
to King Charles II., from

the Hundred of Burnham 71
Reviews, “ History of the
New World called Ame.
rica,” 154;

Memories
of the Jordans and the
Chalfonts

332
Obituary Notices of Mr. R.

Gibbs, 159; of Sir Harry
Verney, Bart., 239 ; of
Mr. Samuel Sandars,
211; of Mr. Henry See-
bohm

466

Ivinghoe Church (Proceedings) 472
Ickford Church, Report on (Mr.

W. H. St. John Hope). 550
"Jordans and the Chalfonts,

Memories of," Review (The
Editor)

332
Keyser, Mr. Charles E., M.A.,

F.S.A., on some Mural Paint-
ings recently discovered in
the Churches of Little Hor-
wood and Padbury .

215
Local Words of South Bucks (Mr.
A. H. Cocks).

61
Langley Church and Manoriai His:
tory (Proceedings).

79
Lillingstone, Dayrell Church (Pro-
ceedings)

82
Lillingstone, 'Lovell Church (Pro-
ceedings)

87
Leckhamsted Church and Parish
(Proceedings)

89
Langley Marsh Church (Dr. F. G.
Lee)

175
Lavendon Church (Dr. F. G. Lee) 177
Little Horwood and Padbury

Churches, Mural Paintings in

(Mr. Charles E. Keyser) . 215
Lake or Pile-Dwelling at Hedsor

(Mr. James Rutland), 229, 465 ;
(Mr. A. H. Cocks)

538
Leighton Buzzard Church, Visit
to (Proceedings)

571
Lee, Rev. F. G., D.D., F.S.A., on

Amersham Churchwarden's
Accounts

43
on Certain Buckinghamshire

Churches, etc.

[blocks in formation]

169

History and Antiquities of Water

Stratford (Mr. J. L. Myres)
“History of the New World called

America,” Review (by The
Editor).

[blocks in formation]

PAGE

PAGE

[ocr errors]

Mysticism and Millenarianism in

England (Mr J. L Myres) 22
Monuments at Thornton (Mr. R.
H. Russell)

52
Manorial History of Langley (Mr.
R H. Russell)

79
Maids Moreton Church( Proceedings) gi
Missenden Charters (Mr. J. Parker) 148,

315, 501
Mural Paintings in Churches of Lit-

tle Horwood and Padbury (Mr.
Charles E. Keyser, M.A.,
FS.A.)

215
Minutes of a Meeting at Beacons-

field in 1792 (Mr. George
Weller)

231
Missenden Chartulary and Celi-

bacy of the Clergy (Mr. J.
Parker)

314
“ Memories of Jordans and the

Chalfonts" (Review by the
Editor)

332
Montforts, the Wellesbournes, and

the_Hughenden Effigies (Mr.
E. J. Payne, M.A.).

362
Marsworth Church (Proceedings). 470
Middle Claydon, Palimpsest Brass
at (Mr. A. H. Cocks)

529
Maitland, Mr. J. T., M.A., on John

Newton of Olney and his Wife 189
Myres, Mr. J. L., B.A., F.S.A., on

John Mason, Po and
Enthusiast

9
History and Antiquities of
Water Stratford

115
The Church Plate of Buck.
inghamshire

413
de Noers Family, Pedigree of (Mr.
J. Parker)

137
North Marston Church (Dr. F. G.
Lee)

179
Newton, John, of Olney and his

Wife, the Removal and Rein-
terment of their Remains (Mr.
J. T. Maitland)

189
Obituary Notices 156, 239, 466, 568
Olney Church (Mr. H. Gough) 197
Origin and Growth of Christianity

'in Bucks (Rev. T. Williams) 313
Ordericus Vitalis, References to
(Mr. J. Parker)

480
Preface (Mr. John Parker, The
Editor)

1
Proceedings of the Society for 1891,

75; for 1892, 163; for 1893,
243; for 1894, 335; for 1895,
468; for 1896

570
de Plesset Family, Pedigree of (Mr.
John Parker).

139

Paper Mills in Bucks (Rev. W. H.
Summers)

202
Padbury and Little Horwood

Churches. Mural Paintings in
(Mr. C. E. Keyser)

215
Pedigree of the Montforts, Earls of

Leicester (Mr. J. Norris) 381
of the Petty Family (Mr.
R. S. Downs)

451
of the Welles Family (Mr.
R. S. Downs)

461
of the de Noers Family
(Mr. J. Parker)

137
of the de Plesset Family
(Mr. J. Parker)

139
of the Sandford Family
(Mr. J. Parker)

138
Palimpsest Brass at Middle Claydon
(Mr. A. H. Cocks) :

529
Parker, Mr. John, F.S.A., on Serf-

dom in England and the
Transfer of Serfs in Bucks 137
The Missenden Chartulary
and the Celibacy of the
Clergy

314
on the Giffards.

475
Pigott, Rev. R. H., M.A., on the

Dukes of Wharton and Earl of
Chesterfield

247
Payne, Mr. E. J.; M.A., on the

Montforts, the Welles-
bournes, and the Hughen-
den Effigies

362
Whitecliff Cross

559
Reviews, “History of the New

World called America” (The
Editor), 154; “Menories of
the Jordans and the Chal-
fonts" (The Editor)

332
“Roman de Rou,” (Wace's) Refer.

ences to (Mr. J. Parker). 488
“ Romano-British Pile. Dwelling at

Hedsor” (Mr. A. H. Cocks) 538
Russell, Mr. R. H., on the Monu.
ments of Thornton

52
Rutland, Mr. James, F.g.s., on a

Recent Discovery at Hedsor 229, 465

[ocr errors]

.

et seq.

[ocr errors]

Stantonbury Church (Mr. J. L.
Myres)

12
Subscriptions to Present to King

Charles II. from Hundred of
Burnham, Account of (The
Editor)

71
State Papers relating to Beacons-

field, etc. (Rev. W.

H. Summers) 97
Relating to High
Wycombe (Rev.
W. H. Summers) 304,511

« PoprzedniaDalej »