« PoprzedniaDalej »
having been hidden from time immemorial behind some old wainscoting.
Pentilly Castle, the seat of J. T. Coryton, Esq. about a mile north of Llandulph, is situated on an eminence rising from the Tamar, and commands extensive and beautiful prospects. It is a modern structure, of Gothic architecture, and is finished with great taste and elegance. In the grounds is a Tower placed on a hill, and erected in pursuance of the will of a former possessor of the estate, for the reception of his body after death: the story related by Gilpin of his corpse being " seated in his elbow chair, at a table, furnished with bottles, glasses, pipes, and tobacco," has been disproved, by opening the tower; and Mr. Stockdale informs us that “he was buried in a coffin; and from his will, it is clear died in the hope of a glorious immortality."
EAST AND WEST LOOE. These towns are situated at the mouth of the river Looe, and are connected by a long narrow stone Bridge of several arches; the first named is 234 miles from London, and had, in 1821, 770 inhabitants, while the latter has 953, who are principallysupported by fishing. Both towns are composed of mean and straggling houses, and neither of them possesses a single building worthy of description. East Looe has a little Chapel; and West Looe a small Town Hall; each of them sends two Members to Parliament. East Looe is governed by nine Burgesses, from whom a Mayor is annually chosen; and a Market is held here on Saturday. The surrounding country is romantic and beautiful; and the lofty hills, covered with gardens, and overshadowed by trees, interspersed with cottages, have an exceedingly picturesque appearance. In this neighbourhood are several handsome mansions, belonging to persons whom the beauty of the scenery has induced to settle here; among the most prominent may be mentioned Polvellan, the seat of Colonel Lemon; and a house, once honoured by the residence of “ Rowland Stephenson, Esq." the well-known banker.
About three miles from Looe is Trelawney House, a venerable mansion, erected at various periods, and containing some good portraits, among which is one
of Sir J. Trelawney, Bishop of Winchester, painted by. Kneller.
Opposite to the mouth of the river is Looe Island; the rocks which surround it are much resorted to by aquatic birds for the purpose of depositing their eggs. Here are some vestiges of a Chapel, dedicated to St. George.
LOSTWITHIEL Is an ancient town, 234 miles from London, and is situated on the river Fawy, which is navigable a short distance below. It principally consists of two narrow streets, of well-built houses, running from the river to the foot of a high hill on the west, and the population, according to the last returns, amounted to no more than 933 persons, although this was formerly the County town, and the knights of the shire are still elected, and other county business transacted here. This is a Corporation of very ancient date, and many of its privileges were conferred by Richard, King of the Romans, in the reign of Henry III; it is governed by a Mayor, six capital Burgesses, and seventeen Assistants, who elect the Parliamentary Representatives,
The Church is a venerable building, dedicated to St. Bartholomew, and consists of three aisles, with a tower at the west end, surmounted by a beautiful spire: the Font is ancient, of an octagonal form, supported by five clustered columns, and covered with a variety of rude sculpture: this curious relic has been much obscured by repeated coats of whitewash. Near the Church are the remains of a building called the Palace, formerly the residence of the Dukes of Cornwall, but since converted into a Pri. son, attached to the Stannary Courts ; on the front it bears the arms of the Duchy. Here is also a neat Town Hall, erected in 1740, in which the Quarter Sessions are sometimes held. The weekly Market, which is well attended, is kept on Friday, and three Fairs are annually held.
Between one and two miles from Lostwithiel, on the summit of an eminence, are the venerable remains of Restormel Castle; richly mantled with ivy, and embosomed in wood, they present one of the most picturesque objects imaginable; and although little more than the skeleton of former grandeur, it is still majestic in decay. The outer wall is nearly circular in form, and is surrounded by a deep moat, now filled with brambles and weeds. The entrance is on the south side, beneath ap arch, formerly surmounted by a square tower, now in ruins; this leads into an open area, once surrounded by a great number of apartments, of which the foundations only are now visible; and these, with two broken staircases, and some traces of a small Chapel, are all that remain of this structure, once the principal residence of the Earls of Cornwall. The period of its erection is uncertain; but it is generally attributed to Robert, Earl of Mortaigne and Cornwall, so created by William the Conqueror: Leland states it to have been, even in his time," sore defaced;" and from the expressions made use of by Carew and Norden, it appears to have owed its destruction to the hand of rapacity rather than of time. Near the Castle is Restormel House, an ancient edifice, formerly attached to the estate, but now the property of the Earl of Mount Edgcumbe, and the residence of J. Hext, Esq.
About three miles east of Lostwithiel, is Boconnock House, formerly the seat of R. Pitt, Esq. father of the celebrated Earl of Chatham, and now of Lord Grenville; it is beautifully seated in a fine park, well stocked with deer. The house is of plain exterior, but possesses many bandsome apartments, a good library, and a valuable collection of portraits. On an eminence in the park is a noble. Obelisk, 123 feet high, in memory of Sir Richard Lyttleton, with a highly flattering inscription. Charles I resided at this house during the greater part of August, 1644, and here, it is said, an attempt was made to assassipate him. The parish of Boconnock has about 250 inhabitants, and the Church, erected early in the fifteenth century, once contained a great number of ancient and curious monuments, the greater part of which have been defaced or removed.
* The former says, “s Certes it may move compassion, that a palace so healthful for aire, so delightfal for prospect, so necessary for commodities, so fayre for building, and so strong for defence, should, in time of secure peace, and under the protection of his natural princes, be wronged with those spoylings, than which it could endure no greater at the hands of any forraine and deadly enemy."-". The whole Castle,” says Norden, «beginneth to mourne, and to wring out hard stones for tears; that she that was einbraced, visited, and delighted with great princes, is now desolate, forsaken and forlorne. The cannon need not batter, nor the pioneer to undermine, nor powder to blow up this so famous pyle ; for time and tyrannie have wrought her desolation; her water-pipes of lead are gone, the planchings rotten, the walles fallen down, the fayre and large chimney-pieces, and all that would yield money or serve for use are converted to men's private purposes; and there remaineth a false show of honour, not contenting anie compassionate eye to behold her lingeringe decaies. Men'grieve to see the dying delays of anie brute creature; so may we mourne to see so stately a pyle so long a-falling; if it be of no use, the carcass would make some profite; therefore, if it deserve, let her fall be no longer delayde, else will it drop peacemeal downe, and her now profitable reliques will then serve to little or no use."
MARAZION, or MARKET Jew, stands on the coast, 286 miles from London, and is built on the side and at the foot of a hill, by which it is sheltered from northerly winds; and this situation, with the mildness of the climate, renders it a desirable winter residence for invalids. This town is of some antiquity, and is supposed to have originated from the numerous pilgrims who resorted to St. Michael's Mount, and the consequent attraction of traders to supply their wants. Its name is said to be derived from the Jews, who, in the middle ages, were almost the only merchants, and who are stated to have held an annual Fair here, in which they exchanged or sold their commodities, and purchased tin. In 1595 Queen Elizabeth granted a Charter to the inhabitants of this town, by which they were placed under the government of a Mayor, eight Aldermen, and twelve Burgesses, with power to hold a weekly Market, (which is kept on Thursday), and two annual Fairs. It is now a place of small consequence, and, in 1821, had 1253 inhabitants. The parish Church is at a distance of two miles, but divine service is performed at a neat Chapel of Ease in the town.
About four miles north-east of Marazion is Clowance, the venerable mansion of Sir J. St. Aubyn: it stands in an extensive park, and is an ancient building, stated to have been the property of this family from the fourteenth century to the present day. The grounds and plantations are arranged with great taste, and the apartments contain a number of fine portraits, and a good selection of valuable prints. Two miles and a half from hence is Godolphin House, which was built by Sir F. God phin in the reign of Elizabeth, and was formerly imarkable for its magnificence, but is now in a state of great decay,
At the distance of about 400 yards from Marazion, from which at low water it may be reached on foot, by a kind of causeway of sand and rocks, is
ST. MICHAEL'S MOUNT,
one of the most remarkable and commanding objects on this coast. It is a rock, about a mile in circumference, of a conical form, aud diminishing gradually towards the summit, which is crowned by the venerable tower of a Chapel, so as to form a kind of pyramid. On its eastern side the base is occupied by a snall fishing town, of modern origin, with about 250 inhabitants, where a commodious Pier has been formed, at the expence of Sir J. St. Aubyn, the proprietor of the Mount, which is capable of shelteriug vessels of 500 tons burthen. From low-water mark to the top of the tower the height is 250 feet; and the rock is principally composed of slate and granite.
The Mount, when viewed from a distance, im. presses the beholder with ideas of grandeur and sublimity: and this effect is increased by ascending its rugged sides, and traversing the winding path which leads to its summit, and is overhung by immense masses of rock. In various parts of the ascent, portions of the fortifications, which anciently added to its natural strength, are encountered. On arriving at the top, we enter the Priory, or Castle, as it is sometimes called, although its appearance is much more monastic than martial. This consists of a va